top of page

Mommy Burnout: 10 Ways to Get out of A Rut: You Got This!

Updated: Jan 28, 2022




I recently found myself in a rut lately after having a successful few weeks. I woke up one day and felt blah. That one day turned into 2 days and I realized that I needed to get some tools to get out of this blah state. I was experiencing "mommy burnout." Here are some of the ways I used to boost my mood.


  1. Start Your Day with Positivity: I learned about Mindfulness about a year ago. Simply being present and not looking to the past. I focused on things that I'm grateful for and either journal them or recite the list in my mind. Do this before you start your day and you will see positive results.

  2. Surround yourself with nature: Buy a new plant, sit on your porch or visit a park. Soak in the beautiful surroundings. Surely to be a mood booster.

  3. Get grounded: Take your shoes off and put your feet in the grass or in the sand for 10-20 minutes. Its called "Earthing". Connecting with the Earth recharges us and elevates our mood. Read more about "Earthing."

  4. Meditate: Meditation is a good start to your day. If you are a busy, stay at home mom and working from home mom, this might be hard to pencil in. I found some sneaky ways to meditate- I close my eyes for about 5 minutes when I put my children down for nap. Now you can choose to meditate for the entire nap time. Or if you are like me, you are trying to get a million things done while the children are asleep. I never thought I would be the meditation type. But now I'm a believer.

  5. Weekly Treat: It is always good to have something to look forward. to. In my home, we have Taco Tuesdays and Pizza Fridays. Im dieting so these weekly meal treats are something I enjoy. You can also get your nails done or take a bubble bath.

  6. Dance Party: Get the serotonin flowing with some tunes and dancing. My oldest and I are not happy morning people. We need a little extra to get started in the morning. I have a morning playlist I call my "Morning Motivation". Pick songs that make you happy. Just a few minutes of dancing is enough to put you in a good mood.

  7. Redecorate: I love rearranging the furniture or swapping out the decor. Altering your surroundings can help you see things in a new way.

  8. Sing your heart out: I used to play karaoke at home with my little sister even before I knew what it was. I always play a song where I have to hit a high note. Screaming those lyrics is really a stress reliever.

  9. Social Media Cleanse: Scrolling down your timeline can be addicting. Unplugging for even a day. I find it extremely easy to compare yourself to other moms who seem perfect on social media- squeaky clean house, perfect figure, perfect children. Comparing yourself to these influencers can damage your self esteem. Im not saying to quit social media but taking a break can lessen the comparison cycle.

  10. Get some "Me Time": Alone time is essential for our mental health. Doing anytime ALL the time Being a mom is important and is our first priority. However, its equally important to maintain our personal identity. Sneak away for me time- take a long shower, take a walk, exercise! I use all of these "excuses" to get away!






Comentarios


bottom of page