top of page

Christmas Traditions {That you still have time to do}

Updated: Jan 27, 2022

Christmas is just 3 days away and I think Im more excited than the children. As a parent, I cant wait to see the happiness on my children's faces. It truly is rewarding and one of the best parts of being a mom. I wanted to share some of our Christmas Traditions just in time for Christmas. You still have plenty of time to incorporate these traditions for the majority of the items listed.


Open up one gift on Christmas Eve



I started this tradition with my parents when I was a teenager. It was a compromise between getting up very early (sometimes 3am) and waiting until 6am (which felt like torture for me). Opening up one gift satisfied me enough to sleep in a little bit in the morning.


I changed the tradition slightly for my children. I allow them to open up their Christmas stocking gift. I am known as the Christmas Stocker as I am consistently filling my family's stockings. We spend Christmas Eve over my sisters home and last year DJ fell asleep on the way home. So it was just my husband and I that exchanged stocking gifts on Christmas Eve lol.


Christmas Eve Box



If you decide to allow your children to open a present on Christmas Eve, you can make them a Christmas Eve box. There are so many ideas you can use to make your Christmas Eve box. My box this year includes a new pair of family pajamas and "The Night Before Christmas" book to read before the children go to bed. Here are some other links to give you inspiration.



Make a Gingerbread house

Purchase a Gingerbread House Kit or Make your own using graham crackers and candy.



Christmas cookies for Santa on Xmas Eve


If you are feeling up to the challenge make your own cookies from scratch. I will be using the ready made cookies. No shame either way!!!! Here's a Chocolate Chip cookie recipe by Betty Crocker.


Feed Santa’s Reindeer on Xmas Eve


I used to make the reindeer food for my students before I became a mom. Now, I make and serve the reindeer food with my boys on Christmas Eve. I use oatmeal and glitter for our reindeer food. I sprinkle a little on the lawn to demonstrate how to do it. Then I give each child their own bag to sprinkle on the lawn. I normally sweep it up before the kids go outside so they can get the effect of the reindeer "eating" the food. Reindeer food is the perfect gift for young family members or for your classroom. Head over to the freebies page for your copy of the Reindeer Food labels. Not a subscriber? No problem, subscribe to our website to receive full access to our freebies page.


Reindeer Cam

Watch live footage of the reindeers using the reindeer cam. Your children will absolutely love it.


Trace Santa’s Route

If you have Comcast or Xfinity you are able to use their Santa Claus Tracker during the month of December. Google has their own Santa Tracker that you can use if you do not have this provider.


Mark Off Days on an Advent Calendar

Use the article from Country Living for some DIY advent calendars if you are feeling crafty. I cheated this year and used the advent calendar I've used in my classrooms. I used a clothespin for fine motor practice and allowed my preschooler to change the days. Today, we counted the days and he got so excited he went to the window looking for Santa!! Talking about anticipation. I felt so badly that he was disappointed Santa was still days away. He's not alone. I can't wait either!!!



Visit Christmas Lights in Your Neighborhood

As a child, I loved driving around and looking at all of the lights. I admit it took me longer than normal to get into the spirit this year. But once I got the spirit, there was no stopping me. I took to decorating the inside and outside of the house!!! I still get excited to see large displays. We took the boys to a drive through light display this year and it was still amazing! Covid has found some interesting ways to keep the holiday going. I like this tradition! Watch our trip to see the Christmas lights on our Youtube Channel. This episode is one of 12 that we did for Vlogmas this year.





Wear Matching Family Pajamas for a Christmas Photo OP


I admit that when I was single I thought the whole family pj matching thing was corny. However, I couldnt resist once I started seeing photos flooding social media after becoming a mom. Motherhood changes you in mysterious ways lol. This was our photo last year. I found out how to use the timed feature on my iphone. Im excited for our photo this year as I am 35 lbs lighter!!!! I still have 25 more lbs to go then I will be at my dream weight. New Years Resolution, here I come!!



Thank you for reading my blog. I found you found it helpful and interesting. Follow Beelieve Academy on Tiktok, Pinterest, Youtube, Instagram and Facebook. Like, tag, and share to help spread Beelieve Academy to more moms and teachers of young children. My subscribers are the most amazing group of individuals and I am so grateful for you! Thanks so much for your support!!!Happy Holidays to you and your family!!!! I hope your new year is bright and full of blessings.


Comments


bottom of page