top of page

Preschool Transition Tips and Songs

Updated: Apr 22, 2022



What is a transition?

A transition is a period where you are moving from one activity to another. Transitions can be a trying time and the hardest part of your day. But it doesn’t have to be. Transitions need to be consistent (scheduled) and as short as possible. Children often act out when they are waiting too long for the next activity to start. Minimize your transitions so that your children are not waiting longer than 5 minutes. Fill the time with a song appropriate for the activity- sing a song about food during lunch time, sing a clean up song after center time, sing a goodbye song at dismissal. Planning your transitions in advance will make your life and your child’s life a lot easier. Choose a song or phrase for each activity so your child will know what to expect. Singing the same song or playing a song for a particular activity will provide your child with stability and a sense of control. There are so many things out of a child’s control that they often resist transitioning to a new activity. I like choosing fun, upbeat songs as well as songs that relate to the next activity. For instance, to signal the end of nap, I play the “Planet Rock song” it's about 6 minutes long which is long enough for the children to hear and wake up.




Transition Tips

  1. Be consistent: Try to keep the activities to the same time every day. It is ok to finish 10 or 15 minutes early. Just stay in the general ballpark.

  2. Give a heads up: I used to have my students recite “5 more minutes” after I let them know there is 5 minutes to clean up time. Allow extra time for children to finish an activity so they do not feel rushed and act out. I try to involve my students as much as possible so they can feel empowered and important. In the beginning, I do a 10 minute signal and then a 5 minute signal.

  3. I have 3 visual schedules hanging in the classroom. A child can use the pictures as a guide to determine what is coming next.

  4. Music is a great way to mark the transitions in your school day. There are tons of transition songs online. Songs help to channel energy and helps children to stay in the present to prepare for the next activity. Try to allow for as much movement as possible.

  5. Set a timer or perform a transition activity. For instance, after story time, I encourage my students to jump to their cots in preparation for nap time.

My Preschool Day in Song

Welcome song

Good morning, good morning,

How are you?

Good morning, good morning, who are you?

Weather song

Weather Watcher, Weather Watcher,

What do you see?

What do you see?

Tell us what the weather’s like,

Tell us what the weather’s like,

Wait and see, wait and see!

Days of the week Movement song

Sunday (touch top of head)

Monday (touch ears)

Tuesday (touch shoulders)

Wednesday (touch waist)

Thursday (touch knees)

Friday (touch toes)

Saturday (hands in the air, jump to say Saturday)

Simple Refocusing Song- Open, Shut Them (author unknown)

Open, shut them, open, shut them

Give your hands a clap, clap, clap

Open, shut them, open, shut them

Lay them in your lap, lap, lap

Focusing song- Storytime Song (tune to Twinkle, Twinkle- author unknown)

Hands go up, hands go down

I can turn myself around,

I can stand up on one shoe,

I can listen, I’ll show you

I can sit, and I’ll show you how

Storytime is starting now!

Handwashing Song (tune to Row, Row, Row your boat- author unknown)

Wash, wash, wash your hands,

Soap will get them clean

Scrub, scrub, scrub your hands

Germs go down the drain

Lunchtime song- Bon Appetit (author unknown)

We say grace in my home as we are a spiritual family. I want to raise my children to be grateful for things they are given. However, you do not need to be spiritual or religious to instill a sense of gratitude in your children. I sing this lunch time song to express friendship and gratitude.

We love our bread,

We love our butter,

Most of all we love each other

Bon Appetit

Now let’s eat!

Comments


bottom of page