top of page

10 Tips for the New Home School Mom

Updated: Jan 28, 2022


(Disclaimer) This is my first blog post EVER!!! In case you didn't know, I am excited!!! I wanted to provide a little piece of advice that I learned along the way. Last year, it was tough!!!!! I was a new mom as well as a mom to a toddler. Yes, I had 2 babies in 2 years!!


I am a former teacher and thought I had the skills to handle two little ones. Well, let me tell you- It’s much easier to handle a group of 5 year olds than it is to handle a newborn and a 2 year old!!! I quickly had to balance motherhood, working remotely, and being a wife DURING a PANDEMIC!!


I adapted, like all women everywhere! Women are the strongest beings on this earth. I found solace in my spirituality as well as other homeschooling moms. I have to say that the teaching/homeschool community is one of the best I’ve come across. Everyone is so supporting!!!


I compiled 10 tips that worked for me.


Set a Schedule

Establishing a predictable routine will be extremely helpful to you and your child. The schedule does not have to be set in stone but do not deviate too much from it. Children like consistency and a schedule will make transitions much smoother. Below is the schedule I use for my toddlers.



Designated learning space

I like to set up a designated space dedicated to learning. It establishes boundaries and creates a mindset for learning. It can be a spot in the living room with a desk and chair or a whole play school set up! It is totally up to you!

Learning Day/ Rest of Day

A child that receives academic instruction outside of the home has a distinct separation of the learning part of the day from the rest of their day. The child may come home, have a snack, do homework, play, etc. A homeschool child’s day can run together since they are at home during the whole day. Create boundaries that establish the start of the learning day and the end of the learning day. It will help your child focus when necessary and have a break when necessary.

Child led interesting activities & centers / independent learning

Learning activities should be educational but also fun. Young children (up until 5th grade) learn best through hands-on experiences. At this age, children are making so many neural connections. Interesting activities or activities that your child finds meaning in will enhance their memory of the lesson. Children are motivated to learn by themes and activities they find interesting. If your child likes trucks, have your child paint with car tracks and trace letters with the trucks. Also diversify your learning centers to keep a variety of activities. This also can be done by rotating your centers so that every week you have a certain set of activities. Once you have introduced an activity, you can leave it for independent learning. Independent learning activities should reinforce topics you have already discussed.

Planning your learning day

Every child’s needs are different. Some children need a nap before afternoon academic instruction while others may not. Keep your child’s unique needs in mind when creating your schedule. As a Kindergarten teacher, my learning day varied slightly according to my students’ needs. For instance, I may teach math in the afternoon after playing outside as gross movement can help a child focus. Pay attention to your child’s energy level and do not force academic instruction if your child is hungry or tired. A child that is not motivated to learn will not retain the lesson and will also give you so much difficulty. I learned the hard way several years ago! Most academic days for 2-4 year olds are about 3-4 hours with plenty of play time involved. At this age, playing is very important. During playtime, children are enacting skills they learned during the day as well as expressing themselves.

Prep your activities

I cannot stress enough to prepare your activities in advance. Young children, especially, get restless, so preparing for activities in advance will eliminate issues with transitions. Your transition songs and brain breaks can also be prepared so you do not have to think on the spot. It will also give you some piece of mind not deciding every few minutes what to do. I also have 1 or 2 unscheduled activities at my disposal just in case an activity goes faster than planned. This is where busy or quiet boxes come in. I like to have activities set aside in quiet boxes just so my child can play independently.

Ask for advice from veterans moms

It is not easy to venture on your own and start homeschooling from scratch. There are so many resources and groups available to help you on your homeschool journey. You are not alone! Do not hesitate to seek advice from veteran moms.

Have something to look forward to

In these times, social distancing is the new normal. You may be going stir crazy (like me) if you are spending lots of time inside of the house. Go for a walk, sit on your porch or go for a drive. Fresh air will make you feel great!! When you are a homeschool mom, the weekends and days often melt into one another. It's easy to get lost in the day to day. So create a reward for yourself at the end of the week. For me, I have fast food Fridays. It is my treat to myself (not cooking dinner one day a week) but it is something I look forward to. It creates a separation in my “work” week.

Self Care

As moms, our priorities are our families and household. We are often last on the list. However, most moms are the integral part of the household. Working at home can quickly lead to burn out so make sure you take time for yourself to meditate, breathe, and regroup. Get up a little earlier than everyone else to mentally prepare for your day. Set your goals or intentions for the day either by writing them in a journal or reciting them in your mind. You are awesome!!

Read, Read, Read,

Reading at any age is essential for Kindergarten readiness. Reading provides language, communication, vocabulary, and comprehension skills. Reading throughout the day provides ample opportunity for discussion and reinforcement of topics learned that day. For reading tips, refer to my Reading Course coming soon!

Thank you for reading!!! I hope they also work for you!!! Feel free to comment below.



Comments


bottom of page